Book a Service Latest News Customer Reviews
COVID 19 – From 19th July restrictions are lifting but please continue to wear face coverings and social distance whilst in our showrooms.
Reviews from
Google
4.5
#
683 Reviews
4.5 Average of 683 Reviews
  • Jamie Tink
    4 days ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)

    Cost me £1.70 just to call them and book a car for service! Avoid!

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 2 days ago

    Good morning Jamie, we're sorry to hear about the charge you received in order to get in touch with us. Our Sales Manager will be in touch with you today to understand where it has come from. In future, feel free to get in touch with us via a social media message or even by sending us an email. Thanks, The SLM Team

  • Raymond Leung
    6 days ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 5 days ago

    Thank you so much for the review Raymond, we really appreciate it! Please get in touch with us so that we can discuss on how you think the centre can improve.

  • Steve Hinton
    1 week ago — SLM Toyota (Attleborough)

    Visited as a motability customer, (carer). First impressions were not good. Disabled parking was pointless, very narrow parking due to other vehicles. Entrance doors are very hard to open. That's the bad bits done! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was any trouble. We were served by a lovely young lady who was able to answer all our questions and advise as necessary despite not being the motability representative. Access in and around was tight but manageable. Bathrooms are huge, clean and well presented. A very nice visit but marred by the disabled parking. I'm told the doors are faulty and down for repair. Other than that, I highly recommend if Toyota is on your shopping list.

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 5 days ago

    Morning Steve, thank you so much for your review! Despite the parking situation, it seems as though you had a positive experience with us here at SLM Toyota Attleborough. We'll make it a priority to reassess the disability parking points at our centre!

  • Matt Harwood
    1 week ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)

    Friendly and efficient service staff. The work on the car was carried out and ready at the time stated.

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 week ago

    Thank you so much for the review Matt! We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • John Mcnair
    1 week ago — SLM Toyota (Lowestoft)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 week ago

    Thank you so much for the review John!

  • Martin Gwilliam
    2 weeks ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 2 weeks ago

    Thanks for the review Martin! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve.

  • Adam Larner
    2 weeks ago — SLM Toyota (Lowestoft)

    Gareth was informative, helpful and not pushy for a sale. Test driving a vehicle was easy to arrange too.

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 2 weeks ago

    Great to hear that you had a positive experience with us here at SLM Toyota Lowestoft! Thank you so much for the review Adam, it's very much appreciated.

  • Torquil Mackintosh
    2 weeks ago — SLM Toyota (Hastings)

    The team do well..

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 2 weeks ago

    Thanks for the review! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve.

  • David Trigwell
    3 weeks ago — SLM Toyota (Uckfield)

    Very helpful, competitive prices, pleasure to do business and support local companies.

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 2 weeks ago

    Thank you for the review David! We really appreciate it.

  • Matt Irons
    3 weeks ago — SLM Toyota (Lowestoft)

    Excellent

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 3 weeks ago

    Thanks for the review Matt!

  • rezai a
    3 weeks ago — SLM Toyota (Attleborough)

    Took my car for service, specifically asked to change the oil and filter. When the car was ready to collect they charged me £219. Absolutely chocking! then challenged, they came and removed the air freshener from my car and refunded £19. On the advisory, told me that the car will need wheel bearing replacement on the next MOT. Few weeks on, the wheel was making loud noise, took my car to two local independent garages, they told I must not drive the car until the wheel bearing is replaced. SLM completely neglected their extended warranty and let me drive my car that I could have had serious accident at any time with usually my kids are in the car.

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 3 weeks ago

    Good afternoon Rezai, We apologise that you've had a negative experience with us here at SLM Toyota Attleborough. We are currently in the process of investigating this situation with the extended warranty company and will be in touch with you shortly. If you have any further questions, please get in touch with us on 01953 458200 Many thanks, The SLM Toyota Attleborough Team

  • André Lourenço
    3 weeks ago — SLM Toyota (Lowestoft)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 3 weeks ago

    Thank you for the review!

  • trevor d king
    3 weeks ago — SLM Toyota (Attleborough)

    Ordered up a new key for my Toyota auris 2.2 D SR 180112 - took the car over there because key has to be programmed to car , mix up on my registration number plate , flag up as still on recall (air bag ) told them it had already been done a while back at Bury st Edmunds , waited for key to be programmed to car , few hours , received paperwork for a routine service , they said a mix up on registration , after a week or so I thought I'll check lights etc , noticed hazard warning lights didn't work , called SLM Toyota about it and they denied any responsibility , anyway I had a look and the cable was'nt connected properly , very worrying indeed if I had been broken down somewhere I had no hazard warning lightsworking perfectly ok before I took it there

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group

    Thank you for the review Trevor! It was lovely having you in the branch.

  • Sonya Sonya
    3 weeks ago — SLM Toyota (Lowestoft)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 3 weeks ago

    Thank you so much for the review Sonya!

  • Frank Platts
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)

    What a waste of an hour and a half booked a test drive but new vehicle was out even though I was booked in for days, offered a second hand builders vehicle for the test drivereally

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Hey Frank, We apologise that you haven't had a positive experience with us here at SLM Toyota Norwich! We'd love the opportunity to make it up to you so please give Damian Pavy our Sales Manager a call on 01603 480000. Thanks, The SLM Toyota Norwich Team

  • Julie Harrison
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)

    Booked a test drive in demo, drove 30 mins and car not available. Totally disappointed.

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Hey Julie, We apologise that you haven't had a positive experience with us here at SLM Toyota Norwich! We'd love the opportunity to make it up to you so please give Damian Pavy our Sales Manager a call on 01603 480000. Thanks, The SLM Toyota Norwich Team

  • Tom Jardine
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)

    A few problems after picking up my new car. All sorted now.Much appreciated

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group

    Morning Tom, We're so sorry that you've had a negative experience with us here at SLM Toyota Norwich! We can confirm that we have ordered a fresh pack for you which will be with you very soon! Feel free to give our Sales Manager Damian Pavy a call on 01603 480000 if you have any questions. Thanks, The SLM Toyota Team

  • Debbie Lawrance
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thank you for the review Debbie! We really appreciate it.

  • Alex G
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Hastings)

    The sales process was fine and all staff seemed very polite and professional. However, within two weeks of purchasing a used car from the SLM Toyota I had to call out the AA due to a flat starter battery. This happened again within a few days so I took the car back to the garage to be checked, whereupon they said there was nothing wrong with the battery. Several months later the same problem returned so I called out the AA again. I took it to another Toyota garage for a check, they confirmed the battery was at fault and replaced it for a fee. The battery clearly had a fault on purchase, however SLM Toyota refused to reimburse for this fact. Whilst the service staff were very polite, I feel that my experience of SLM Toyota's apparent shirking of responsibilities shows that under the veneer this company seeks to benefit from some dishonest practices. A starter battery is a very low cost issue, but my experience is an indication that if a more serious problem occured their customers might be left high and dry. It's a pity, but based on my experience I wouldn't recommend purchasing a car from SLM Toyota or its sister companies, there are lots of other suppliers after all, so why take the risk?

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Alex. We regret to read that you feel this way. Here at SLM Toyota Hastings we pride ourselves on our customer service (as our many 5 star reviews suggest). We would never be dishonest nor shirk any responsibilities as suggested. We happily and willingly tested the battery on your car when the battery went flat in October last year. It was tested by our Toyota trained Technician using a calibrated and approved Toyota battery tester and found to be a good battery, so no replacement was necessary. Since then, 11 months and 7000 miles has passed with no further issue being brought to our attention until now. As such, we must conclude that there was no fault with the battery when it was tested last year. We are sorry that you’ve had an issue with your car and we are disappointed in the review but we do wish you all the very best for many miles of safe and trouble free motoring. Kindest regards, The SLM Toyota Hastings Team

  • Rich Barr
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Uckfield)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thank you so much for the review Rich! We really appreciate it.

  • terry wood
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)

    Nice cars but to small for me

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thank you for the review Terry! If we have any bigger cars come in then we'll let you know.

  • Victor Sirb
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Uckfield)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thank you so much for the review Victor! We really appreciate it.

  • Laura Kupcake
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)

    I purchased a car from here in July, it wasn’t the most professional, but the sale was completed, which was the main thing in their eyes. I contacted them the following week enquiring about the receipt of my V5, and was told that it’s company policy for them to retain the V5 for 2 weeks before posting to DVLA. Note: Within one week I’d already received the slip from DVLA saying I was no longer owner of the vehicle I had PXd the new sale with. This had been complete online on the same day. I’ve now waited almost 9 weeks for my V5 to arrive. I’ve contacted DVLA again, to be told I am still not the registered owner, and I now have to fill in a V62 to obtain my V5. Literally. If SLM completed the process online, and efficiently, this could have been resolved within a week.

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Morning Laura, We're so sorry that you've had a bad experience with us here at SLM Toyota Norwich! Could you please give our Sales Manager Damian Pavy a call on 01603 480000 to see if we could help in any other way? Thanks, The SLM Toyota Team

  • Hayden Buckingham
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Lowestoft)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thank you so much for the review Hayden! We really appreciate it.

  • Dimitar Angelov
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thanks so much for the 5 star review Dimitar!

  • Darren Rose
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Attleborough)

    Very helpful, would highly recommend

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thanks so much for lovely review Darren!

  • Rossy's Punt
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)

    Just had my key battery replaced phoned at 9 replaced and home at 10 great service well done thank you

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thanks for the review Ross! We really appreciate it and are glad that we could help.

  • Gabriel Ghet
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Lowestoft)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thank you for your review Gabriel!

  • Pilip Hach
    1 month ago — SLM Toyota (Lowestoft)

    View all cars while waiting in traffic , a good strong brand of vehicle

    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 1 month ago

    Thank you so much for the review Pilip! We really appreciate it.

  • Janet Berryman
    2 months ago — SLM Toyota (Norwich)
    Response from St Leonards Motors Group 2 months ago

    Thanks so much for the lovely review Janet!

No reviews available

Loading...
+
Loading