Reviews from
Google
for SLM Select

4.4
#
159 Reviews
4.4 Average of 159 Reviews
  • Joanne Smoothy
    3 weeks ago

    SLM and especially Jack, made buying a new car and part-exchanging my old one, a really straightforward experience. Jack was great - helped me decide which car would be best for me, negotiated a good price for my trade-in, and arranged to have the new car completely cleaned and checked ready for collection. Jack very efficiently went through documentation at our collection appointment, explained everything, did the necessary online form-filling etc, didn't push me to buy extras and waved me off in my lovely new car. Thanks Jack, very happy

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 3 weeks ago

    Hi Joanne, thank you for your wonderful five star review. We are so pleased to hear about your car buying experience with us at SLM Select and that Jack was able to help you find the perfect car. We wish you many happy miles in your car!

  • Darren Gill
    3 weeks ago

    I visited SLM select in hastings to view some cars that I had in mind. I had a pleasant and friendly experience there, they were more than happy to allow for a test drive. I felt no pressure into buying and felt like they were genuine and of course a great deal of knowledge on any particular car. I would give a thumbs up for them. .

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 3 weeks ago

    Hi Darren, thank you for your kind five star review. We really appreciate you comments about our team and are pleased to hear about your experience with us.

  • Nicola
    4 weeks ago

    Excellent customer service given by Dave S. 100% recommend. Really easy to deal with from start to finish.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 3 weeks ago

    Hi Nicola. Thank you for your five star review and wonderful feedback about your experience with Dave. We hope you enjoy your new car.

  • Night Wing
    4 weeks ago

    We had a great experience. Jack dealt with us with exceptional service from start to finish. He was good at finding us the right car for our needs, and made the trading of our old car to our new one so pain free. The car was in excellent condition, really clean and they were transparent about a battery issue they discovered on the morning of our pick up. And replaced the battery without needing to be asked. Fantastic team, don’t pressure you to buy extras. Thanks to everyone, especially Jack.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 3 weeks ago

    Hi, thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear about your car buying experience with Jack and hope you enjoy your new car. We look forward to welcoming you back to SLM Select in the future.

  • Paul Taylor
    4 weeks ago

    Just bought a Hyundai i10 for my son. Part exchanged his old i10. Very pleased with the car. Service from Cameron was first class. Would definitely recommend.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 4 weeks ago

    Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind five star review. We appreciate your comments and hope your son enjoys his new Hyundai i10. We look forward to welcoming you back to SLM Select in the future.

  • Tom M
    1 month ago

    I part exchanged my old car to purchase a 2016 Golf SV about 7 months ago from SLM Hastings and opted for their standard 6-month warranty. Initial impressions were good as I paid a nominal amount to reserve the car online and a salesperson promptly got in touch with a video. I also filled in an online form to get a Part Ex value for my old car. (I think there were 3 grades you could select and I picked the lowest, which if anything my car wasn't as bad as the lowest description e.g. it would pass an MOT but admittedly was still old and a bit battered). Anyway, I arranged a Saturday to drive down and see the car (I traveled about 180 miles). I liked the car but on the test drive a glow plug light came on but as it was a Saturday there were no mechanics on site to see to it. I had a few options at this point e.g. come back next week once they look at it, walk away etc, but as I live so far away I was assured they'd pay for it as it would be under warranty and they gave me this assurance in writing (via emailperhaps I was being naive at this point. When proceeding to Part Ex my old car, they didn't honour the price their online system gave me as they said they couldn't sell it on and it would have to go to auction at a loss otherwise. I didn't see this as being my problem and think they should update their system especially when people grade their cars low where the grading criteria is barely drivable and my old car drove fine. I also couldn't get them down on the price of the Golf as they knew they'd have to reimburse the cost of repair but they did put in a full tank. Just before I drove away I noticed the fuel cap was slightly ajar and the fuel door locking actuator was broken (it wouldn't close properly or lock). This really did annoy me as they 100% would have known this as they just filled it up and we're prepared to let me drive off with it had I not raised it. So back in the office I went with the sales person who gave it to me in writing that they'd pay for that too. I drove home fine and took the car to a local garage who strongly advised me to return the car rather than repair but persuaded them to fix the issues. They found a few more minor issues too which I didn't spot such as the door check straps (this would have been an easy fix for SLMs mechanics, so why SLM didn't fix it I don't know). Luckily it was just a faulty sensor as I suspected with the glow plug light. After about 1 week, SLM did pay the full cost of repairs directly to the garage. Overall I am very happy with my car and they did rectify the issues but it was a bit of hassle, so I think 4 stars is more than fair.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 month ago

    Hi Tom, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear you are happy with your new car and appreciate your patience throughout the process. We hope to welcome you back to SLM Select in the future.

  • Alan Wright
    3 months ago

    Very helpful and friendly. Great experience.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 month ago

    Hi Alan, thank you for taking the time to leave us a five star review. We are pleased to hear your feedback on our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to SLM Select in the future.

  • Samantha Hobbs
    3 months ago

    Very happy with my Mercedes convertible purchase, also have my car serviced here. Team are very knowledgeable and helpful. Would recommend.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 3 months ago

    Hi Samantha. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a five star review. We really appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to hear you are enjoying your Mercedes! We look forward to welcoming you back to SLM Select soon.

  • Yido 4575
    4 months ago

    2015 VW Up! Twice it's been back, very little communication!! Seen two other mechanics about the issue, both saying the same the same thing. Slm say there is no issueA faulty clutch release bearing is clearly an issueNote this issue was apparent from day 1 when they dropped the car off to me) Currently organising this issue to be fixed by a local reliable mechanic. Would never use again or recommend. Avoid

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 4 months ago

    Hi, we are sorry to hear about your experience at SLM Select and that you are having issues with your vehicle. We strive to provide high levels of customer service, so we apologise that these were not met on this occasion. Please can you email your details to slmselect.enquiries @slm.co.uk and our Manager will be in touch to hopefully resolve your concerns.

  • Stewart Holter
    5 months ago

    Recently I had the pleasure of purchasing my new vehicle from SLM, when I arrived I was quickly met by my salesman Cameron, who asked me all the normal questions about what I was looking for and budget etc. At no point was I made to feel under pressure and once I had fallen for one of their used Fords,he made it an easy enjoyable experience from start to finish, he even picked me up from home on the morning of the collection. I would highly recommend SLM Select and ask for Cameron !!

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 5 months ago

    Hi Stewart. Thank you for the five star review and wonderful feedback - we really appreciate it! We are pleased to hear about your experience and that Cameron was able to help you find your new car. We look forward to welcoming you back to SLM Select in the future, happy driving!

  • Lakshman Yadav
    5 months ago SLM Select
    Response from SLM 5 months ago

    Hi Lakshman, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our team really appreciate it! It would be great to know how we could make your next visit to us a five-star experience so would love to hear your feedback.

  • Robert Collins
    6 months ago

    Between my wife and I we have had nine cars from here over the past 10 years or so and normally purchase two cars each time and we wouldn't go anywhere else, the service from the sales staff is excellent there is never the feeling of being forced into anything or pushed to purchase any extra packages, when ever we visit the sales or service team we are always greeted with a smile. If there are ever any issues which are rare they are always sorted out asap.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 6 months ago

    Hi Robert, thank you for leaving us a wonderful five star review! We appreciate your kind comments and are pleased to hear about your experience with our sales and service departments. Thank you for choosing SLM Select, we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again in the future!

  • Jean Barr
    6 months ago

    Very helpful great choice of used cars.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 6 months ago

    Hi Jean, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are pleased to hear about your experience with our team. We'd love to know how we can make your next visit to us 5 stars!

  • Ruth A
    7 months ago

    Was interested in a car and was told that I could put a deposit down subject to an independent check (by RAC/AA) if I wanted one (something I know to be routine with most dealersI then spoke to another member of the sales team a week later who said they wouldn’t allow any independent checks of the vehicle until the car was bought and paid for and in my possession (so basically at that point I would have no recourse if there was anything major wrong with the car). What would be the point of a third party check then? So (a) I was told two different things and (b) it makes me think there is something to hide if they won’t let me get any third party checks before buying. Other dealers I have spoken to since have said this unusual. Just beware if you are buying from here! Update: Thanks for your response, but it doesn’t help I’m afraid. No response is required to the email you have sent me, as I am not taking the car because I’m not happy that you are not allowing me to get any independent check done on the car (as a reputable dealer would allow). The email is the reason I am writing this review. I will not be buying any vehicle from SLM Select in the future.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 7 months ago

    Hi Ruth, we are sorry to hear about this. As discussed during a telephone conversation, all of our vehicles have a rigorous heath check carried out on them before they are available to be driven by customers. A clean health check is also required by our warranty company once a vehicle is sold for them to warrant the vehicle. A copy of this clean heath check was provided via email as requested and we are awaiting your response. We apologise regarding any miscommunication and would love the opportunity to assist you with a vehicle search moving forward.

  • viv church
    7 months ago

    MOT the car fixed all defects cleaned professionally before collection Dealt with V5 tax etc very smooth take over

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 3 months ago

    Hi Viv, thank you for your kind five star review! We are pleased to hear you are happy with your MOT and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

  • Mark Leggo
    11 months ago

    Fair selection of cars but, unfortuneately, nothing for us. Sales guy was friendly and helpful, and would go back if we change car again.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 3 months ago

    Hi Mark, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your kind feedback about our team. We have over 150 used vehicles in stock and our showroom has just been refurbished so we hope to welcome you back in the future to help you find your next car!

  • Matthew Ainsworth
    11 months ago

    Made up with my Peugeot, David was helpful and knowledgeable, and got a fair trade in for my old car, and they had already fully serviced the one I was buying and put a dashcam in too. Whole process was seamless and a pleasure.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 11 months ago

    Hi Matthew, Thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic review, we are so pleased to hear you were happy with the service.

  • Dawn Flowerdew
    1 year ago

    I spent 4hrs waiting for a service and MOTthat was already booked so my advice leave your car there and get transport home cos they take forever

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Hi Dawn. We do apologise that you had to wait longer than expected. It is not the normal time frame for a major service and MOT, but as you were aware your car unfortunately failed the MOT and so we did our utmost to carry out the repairs and retest the car as quickly as we could to get you mobile again.

  • Ethan McLean
    1 year ago

    I’ve just bought a Ford Fiesta ST from this garage, and I’m over the moon with it. David Siddle was a pleasure to deal with. He appreciated that I would be travelling 500 miles for the car, and was completely honest about it prior to me seeing it in person. He also went the extra mile and collected me from a nearby train station on the day of purchase. Happy customer!

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Great to hear you were so happy with the car and the service after traveling such a long way Ethan! Thanks for taking the time to leave a brilliant review.

  • Toby Smith
    1 year ago

    I had an issue with my car after sliding on some black ice and needed to have it looked at. I took it to SLM where Glynn was very helpful and talked me through the issue clearly. The part needed was ordered and fitted quickly, and they also managed to save me a lot of money, which I'm incredibly thankful for. If I have any issues with my car in the future, I'll be sure to take it to SLM again

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Thanks for this review Toby, we're happy we could help!

  • Mark Campbell
    1 year ago SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Thanks for a great review Mark!

  • Erica Smythson
    1 year ago

    Excellent service by Dave only few weeks till we get our new car now

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Thanks for the review Erica, we really appreciate it

  • Mark Ryder
    1 year ago

    A bit late with the review but great service from James Larkin earlier in the year. Sorted us out with a Nissan Juke which has proved reliable and a good buy. Very attentive, informative and excellent communication all the way through.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Thank you for the review Mark, we really appreciate it!

  • Tracey Macleod
    1 year ago

    Tilly and the team were fantastic. They were so helpful and bent over backwards to ensure everything was sorted so I could pick up my new car. Would highly recommend.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Thank you so much for the review Tracey. We really appreciate it

  • Dick Board
    1 year ago

    We have just had a great experience buying a mini clubman from David Siddle. The car is excellent and David and the team were really helpful, professional and efficientWe would recommend this place to anyone thinking of buying a good second hand car.

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Thank you for the review! Much appreciated

  • Neal Satchell
    1 year ago

    AVOID, AVOID, AVOID, They take your money , the warranty is useless, I recently purchased a Nissan juke this month for my wife, the car had a suspension clonk when turning right, 5 days after I bought it, I took it back to the garage and they checked it out and agreed that it had a problem. But they said they didn't know what it is or how to fix it , they said I would have to pay £250 to get it checked fully. They said keep driving it and the noise might go away. I asked for my money back a refund as I only had it 5 daysThey refused, they said no . The salesman David sidal did not help me at all. The manager Marcus argued with me and became verbally aggressive towards me and asked me to get out of the office .My wife was scared and was crying , I said call the police , they said I won't get my money back, or a replacement car. I then asked them to buy the car back from me . They offered me £2000 less than what I paid in 5 days . The car suspension was faulty and the gearbox juddererd. I returned the car and lost £2000 in 5 days .None of the staff helped me , the garage is a disgrace. Old fashioned, just like Arthur daly or del boy. No aftersales service. They just rip you off, Do not use this garageA back ,didn't N .

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    We are extremely sorry that your experience with us at SLM select was not to our usual high standards. We take pride in our aftersales department and the customer service they provide so are disappointed at the outcome. As you know we have still not been able to find a fault with your vehicle. Unfortunately we were not able to resolve the issue with you at the time but please contact us if there is anything you would like to discuss. Kind regards SLM Select

  • Rhys Wenham
    1 year ago

    They don't know much about what they are selling road tested a vehicle and found faults with it and got told has not been through workshop yet they should be checked over before being road tested

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Please could you give us a call Rhys, the team would like to discuss this further with you and hopefully resolve the issue. Thanks, the SLM Select team.

  • Ben Anderson
    1 year ago

    Absolutely brilliant service from Tilly from start to finish, everything was so simple and the communication was absolutely amazing. Made a normally tiresome process extremely quick, simple and friendly. Would recommend to anyone!

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Thank you so much for the review Ben! We really appreciate it and are glad that we made your experience enjoyable.

  • james martin
    1 year ago

    Tilly was absolutely fantastic, she was warm friendly and knowledgeable. She couldn’t do enough to help us and make me feel safe and secure in my purchase. Give her a promotion!!

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Thank you so much for the review James! We really appreciate it.

  • Alan Sullivan
    1 year ago

    Made the process of buying a car so quick and simple. After weeks of dealing with complications from other dealers

    SLM Select
    Response from SLM 1 year ago

    Thanks for the review Alan, we really appreciate it and hope you are enjoying your new car!

No reviews available

Loading...
+

Please Wait

This won't take a moment...

+
Loading